Skip to product information
1 of 1


Always Centred At Night

Always Centred At Night

Regular price $73.00
Regular price Sale price $73.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • Description
  • Tracklist

On his new album always centered at night, moby has once again conjured into reality a collection of heartachingly beautiful, tender-yet-defiant songs, made in collaboration with uniquely talented, soulfully aware, other-worldly vocalists. All the songs are love letters to the unrestricted and enchanting music scene of late ‘70s, early ‘80s New York that shaped Moby as a musician. The featured vocalists were given the same assignment: “Please don’t write anything commercial. Let it be weird. Let it be personal. It doesn’t have to make sense.”

“Because of that randomized freedom, I’ve been on the receiving end of so much genius work,” says moby. “And the result has been one of the most exciting, surprising things I’ve ever done as a musician, and it’s one of the most worthwhile things a human being can do: make tender, gentle, vulnerable music that’s a clarion call to act.”

Featured on this album are some of the most exciting vocalists of our time. Some are well-known - such as serpentwithfeet on the breathless daydream of a song ‘on air’, the jazzy soulstress Lady Blackbird on the haunting ‘dark days’, or the astounding poet and activist Benjamin Zephaniah on ‘where is your pride?’. Other contributors have been found in relative obscurity - such as friend and vocalist Brie O’Banion on the Cream cover ‘we’re going wrong’, or Sheffield poet laureate Danaé Wellington on the powerful ‘wild flame’.

“The goal for always centered at night is to do something uncompromising,” says moby. “To make music that is emotional, atmospheric and potentially beautiful. And what better use of this weird privilege I have than trying to foster creative expression that has uncompromising integrity?”

  1. On Air feat. Serpentwithfeet
  2. Dark Days feat. Lady Blackbird
  3. Where Is Your Pride? feat. Benjamin Zephaniah
  4. Transit feat. Gaidaa
  5. Wild Flame feat. Danaé Wellington
  6. Precious Mind feat. India Carney
  7. Should Sleep feat. J.P. Bimeni
  8. Feelings Come Undone feat. Raquel Rodriguez
  9. Medusa feat. Aynzli Jones
  10. We’re Going Wrong feat. Brie O’Banion
  11. Fall Back feat. Akemi Fox
  12. Sweet Moon feat. Choklate
  13. Ache For feat. José James
View full details