Skip to product information
1 of 1

Australian Crawl

THE GREATEST HITS (Limited Edition Sea Blue Vinyl)

THE GREATEST HITS (Limited Edition Sea Blue Vinyl)

Regular price $59.00
Regular price Sale price $59.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • Description
  • Tracklist

Formed in 1978 on Victoria’s Mornington Peninsula - Australian Crawl at the time of their debut album ‘The Boys Light Up’ in 1980 were Simon Binks (lead guitar), Bill McDonough (drums), James Reyne (vocals, piano), Brad Robinson (rhythm guitar) and Paul Williams (bass). That album sold over 4x platinum and spawned the tracks Beautiful People, The Boys Light Up, Downhearted, Hoochie Gucci Fiorucci Mama and Indisposed. It was followed up in 1981 with the ‘Sirocco’ recording. This album also attained 4x platinum accreditation and spent six weeks at #1 on the ARIA chart.

In 1982 the band issued its third album ‘Sons Of Beaches’. The album debuted at #1 yet again and spent five weeks atop the chart and achieved 2x Platinum. Singles from this album included Runaway Girls, Daughters Of The Northern Coast and Shutdown. In 1983 – the ‘Semantics’ EP was issued. Featuring the enduring single Reckless (Don’t Be So) – this track gave the band an ARIA #1 single in November that year. The ‘Between A Rock And A Hard Place’ album followed in 1985, while two live albums ‘Phalanx’ and ‘The Final Wave’ showcased the live prowess of the band. Australian Crawl performed their final show in Perth on 1st February 1986. Australian Crawl was inducted into the ARIA Hall Of Fame in 1996. The Australian Crawl catalogue boasts a nigh-unparalleled, cherished legacy among fans and critics. ‘The Boys Light Up’ was included in the Top 50 entries of the 2010 publication 100 Best Australian Albums. In 2001, Reckless (Don’t Be So) was included in APRA’s Top 30 Australian songs. The cumulative total of eleven weeks at Number 1 on the ARIA Albums Chart places Australian Crawl equal fourth for most weeks at #1 for an Australian group - behind Skyhooks, The Seekers and Midnight Oil.

The album has been re-issued on limited edition sea blue vinyl.

1. Beautiful People
2. The Boys Light Up
3. Downhearted
4. Hoochie Gucci Fiorucci Mama
5. Indisposed
6. Things Don't Seem
7. Errol
8. Oh No Not You Again
9. Lakeside
10. Unpublished Critics
11. Easy On Your Own
12. Shut Down
13. Daughters Of The Northern Coast
14. Runaway Girls
15. Waiting
16. Reckless (Don't Be So.)
17. White Limbo
18. Two Can Play
19. Trouble Spot Rock
20. Louie Louie (Live) (Vinyl Only Bonus Track)

View full details