Skip to product information
1 of 1

Hungry Kids of Hungary

Brighter Side of Blue (Baby Blue Heavyweight Vinyl)

Brighter Side of Blue (Baby Blue Heavyweight Vinyl)

Regular price $70.00
Regular price Sale price $70.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • Description
  • Tracklist

This was one of our albums of 2023 (Double J agreed, too making #16 in their Album Of The Year Countdown). Released in mid-January, it soundtracked our late Australian summer. It’s not a record that’s easily pigeon-holed. Is it alt-country, with a nod to Gillian Welch? Is it classic rock, mined from a similar vein that Chrissie Hynde has drawn from? Is it indie-folk, a lighter, brighter Jen Choler? You tell us.

‘Brighter Side of Blue’ was recorded in Bellambi in the Illawara throughout 2022. Featuring Cecil Coleman from Body Type on drums, and Russell Fitzgibbon (who also released Skeleten’s ‘Under Utopia’) on bass and co-production, it’s a beautiful shiny record that glistens like the sea in that part of Australia, a place where the waves meet ancient escarpment.

This exclusive re-issue of “Brighter Side of Blue” is limited to only 300 copies on baby blue heavyweight vinyl, with an individually-numbered obi strip, and bespoke essay from Amy Campbell.

1. Only Fair
2. Night and Day
3. Happy Person
4. Ants
5. Lost in a Daze
6. Always
7. Brighter Side of Blue
8. How the Time is Tickin'
9. Ghost
10. Nothin' Left to Burn
11. Fade Away

View full details