Skip to product information
1 of 1

Nick Drake

Five Leaves Left

Five Leaves Left

Regular price $57.00
Regular price Sale price $57.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • Description
  • Tracklist

Five Leaves Left is the debut studio album by English folk musician Nick Drake. Recorded between 1968 and 1969, it was released in 1969 by record label Island.

Five Leaves Left has regularly appeared on lists of the best albums of all time. The album was ranked number 283 on Rolling Stone magazine's original 2003 list of "The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time". NME ranked it at number 258 on their 2013 list of "NME's The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time", noting that "his maudlin songs are brought vividly to life with orchestration from Fairport Convention, Pentangle and arranger Robert Kirby". A list of the "200 Greatest Albums of All Time" in Uncut in 2016 placed the album at number 183.

A list of "The 100 Greatest Debut Albums" in Uncut in 2006 placed Five Leaves Left at number 29. The record was also included in a list of "Debut Albums That Changed Music" in Q magazine in 2017. In a 2007 Mojo article titled "100 Records That Changed the World" Five Leaves Left was placed at number 78. It is also included in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die, which called it "a remarkable work: stuffed with complex, introspective music but leavened with arrangements and production straight off the top shelf ... the record is full of glittering, warm sounds that have not aged a jot in the interim", and concluded that Drake "rarely excelled himself more than on this first album". It was voted number 55 in Colin Larkin's All Time Top 1000 Albums 3rd Edition (2000).


1 Time Has Told Me
2 River Man
3 Three Hours
4 Way to Blue
5 Day Is Done
6 Cello Song
7 Thoughts of Mary Jane
8 Man in a Shed
9 Fruit Tree
10 Saturday Sun

View full details