Skip to product information
1 of 1

Hot Chip

Freakout/Release (Deluxe Brown Vinyl)

Freakout/Release (Deluxe Brown Vinyl)

Regular price $40.00
Regular price Sale price $40.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • Description
  • Tracklist

Freakout/Release is another dizzying high in a multi-decade career that's seen Hot Chip continuing to innovate and develop a rich, resonant songcraft. And while they continue to operate at peak form, the album also feels like a new chapter for the group—a collection of flesh-and-blood songs that finds the band reaching into the darkness to emerge as a true creative unit, their gazes fixed positively on the future ahead.

Freakout/Release was written and recorded in the band's newly minted Relax & Enjoy studio in East London, helping them establish the album's lively, full-band sound. Harnessing Hot Chip's irreplicable live energy in a studio space was in the front of the band's mind, as they found themselves particularly inspired by their cover of Beastie Boys' "Sabotage" that's become a setlist staple.

The five piece – comprised of Owen Clarke, Al Doyle, Joe Goddard, Felix Martin (not pictured) and Alexis Taylor – also share the first cut from the record, the album's vibrant and expansive opening track "Down".


  1. Down
  2. Eleanor
  3. Freakout/Release


  1. Broken
  2. Not Alone
  3. Hard To Be Funky feat. Lou Hayter


  1. Time
  2. Miss The Bliss
  3. The Evil That Men Do feat. Cadence Weapon


  1. Guilty
  2. Out Of My Depth
  3. The Most Painful Game (Bonus Track)
View full details