Skip to product information
1 of 2

Hiatus Kaiyote

Tawk Tomahawk (Limited Transparent Vinyl)

Tawk Tomahawk (Limited Transparent Vinyl)

Regular price $59.00
Regular price Sale price $59.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • Description
  • Tracklist

Hiatus Kaiyote broke internationally in 2012 with their first LP, Tawk Tomahawk, which was praised by simpatico musical travellers from Erykah Badu to Questlove to Prince, and embraced by DJs like the BBC’s Gilles Peterson, DJ Jazzy Jeff and Anthony Valadez (KCRW/Morning Becomes Eclectic).

Their first R&B GRAMMY nomination, for their song 'Nakamarra', was followed by a second for 'Breathing Underwater', from their sophomore album, 2015’s Choose Your Weapon. Still, their music defied categorisation: Some called it “neo-soul,” others “future soul”; the band calls it, simply, wondercore.

Their music found fans in hip-hop, sampled on songs by The Carters (Beyonce & Jay-Z), Kendrick Lamar, Anderson .Paak, Chance The Rapper, and Drake—with whom Nai Palm collaborated on his Scorpion album; and in jazz, when Robert Glasper invited the band to appear on his album of Miles Davis remakes, Everything’s Beautiful.

Red Transparent 1LP with bonus 7” including Nakamarra (ft. Q-Tip) and Boom Child (Clever Austin Remix)

1. Mobius Streak
2. The World It Softly Lulls
3. Leap Frog
4. Malika
5. Ocelot
6. Boom Child
7. Lace Skull
8. Rainbow Rhodes
9. Sphynx Gate
10. Nakamarra
11. 7IN
12. Nakamarra feat. Q-Tip
13. Boom Child (Clever Austin Remix)

    View full details