Skip to product information
1 of 1

Sampa The Great

The Return

The Return

Regular price $48.00
Regular price Sale price $48.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • Description
  • Tracklist
Sampa The Great creates a feeling of home on her debut album "The Return". A characteristic record whose reference points range from classical hip hop to old South African traditions
At "The Return" Sampa has won a number of respected musical partners and collaborators for the production of the album. Mixed by Jonwayne (Stones Throw), MsM (Skepta/ Boy Better Know) and Andrei Eremin (GRAMMY nominated for his collaborations with Hiatus Kaiyote and Chet Faker), the productions are by Silentjay, Slowthai producer Kwes Darko, Clever Austin (Perrin Moss/ Hiatus Kiayote), Blue Lab Beats and Syreniscreamy.
The album also features collaborations with Ecca Vandal and the London jazz collective Steam Down. Many of them come from a network Sampa has built since she first appeared on Sydney's hip hop and jazz freestyle nights in 2015 as a newcomer after studying in San Francisco and L.A.. Since then she has performed with Denzel Curry on his breakout track "Black Balloons" for Triple J's "Like A Version" session and toured the world with Kendrick Lamar, Ms. Lauryn Hill, Thundercat, Joey Bada$$$, Hiatus Kaiyote, Noname, Ibeyi and Little Simz.

1 Mwana
2 Freedom
3 Wake Up (Interlude)
4 Time'S Up
5 Grass Is Greener

1 Dare To Fly
2 Any Day
3 Omg
4 Light It Up (Interlude)
5 Final Form
6 Heaven

1 Diamond In The Ruff
2 Leading Us Home
3 Summer
4 Brand New

1 Give Love (Interlude)
2 The Return
3 Don'T Give Up
4 Made Us Better

View full details