Skip to product information
1 of 1


The unraveling of PUPTHEBAND (Indie Exclusive Coloured Vinyl)

The unraveling of PUPTHEBAND (Indie Exclusive Coloured Vinyl)

Regular price $58.00
Regular price Sale price $58.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • Description
  • Track Listing

After already awakening the first anticipation in November 2021 with the song "Waiting", Pup 2022 release their new, fourth studio album "The Unraveling Of Puptheband". The last album of the Canadian punk rockers from Toronto appeared in 2019 with "Morbid Stuff".

"The Unraveling Of Puptheband" was recorded and mixed in five weeks over the summer at the home of Grammy-winning producer and Interpol/The National collaborator Peter Katis. Pup gets support on the record from Sarah Tuzdin of the Illuminati Hotties, Kathryn McCaughey of Nobro, Mel St-Pierre of Casper Skulls and Erik Paulson of Remo Drive. In addition, instruments such as horns, synthesizers and piano have been used for the first time.

In a press release, frontman Stefan Babcock says, "You can hear the band starting to fall off the cliff, and that's why I think this album is our truest and most genuine yet. There's nothing more Pup-like than a slow and inevitable descent into self-destruction." It goes on to say, "I wanted to write about the horrible state of the world, but through a very specific and personal lens. I'm trying to articulate my own dealings with existential angst and hopelessness-which to me is the idea that we all reap what we sow, and right now we're sowing some shit."

To announce the album, Pup presented another taste of their new album with "Robot Writes A Love Song". The catchy gritty lo-fi anthem, reminiscent of Weezer here, the Flaming Lips there, is told from "the perspective of a computer that is overwhelmed to death by real human feelings." The song was written in just 15 minutes, according to the band, with singer Stefan Babcock recording his vocals in the back seat of his car.

1. Four Chords
2. Totally Fine
3. Robot Writes A Love Song
4. Matilda
5. Relentless

1. Four Chords Pt. Ii: Five Chords
2. Waiting
3. Habits
4. Cutting Off The Corners
5. Grim Reaping
6. Four Chords Pt. Iii: Diminishing Returns
7. Puptheband Inc. Is Filing For Bankruptcy

View full details