Skip to product information
1 of 1

Okay Kaya

Watch This Liquid Pour Itself (Coke Bottle Clear Vinyl)

Watch This Liquid Pour Itself (Coke Bottle Clear Vinyl)

Regular price $47.00
Regular price Sale price $47.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • Description
  • Tracklist

Kaya’s Jagjaguwar debut, Watch This Liquid Pour Itself  , due on 24 January 2020, is filled with images of pools of sweat, oceans, and other forms of wetness. On her first single, “Ascend and Try Again,” actual instructions for how to survive an anxiety attack underwater are repurposed into lyrics. In “Popcorn Heart,” her heart becomes a place where ducklings can swim. But the water in Okay Kaya’s world is not one of renewal and rebirth—it’s perhaps not water at all, actually; “It’s more like bile,” Kaya says, “It’s what comes out in the purge.” In these images, Kaya swims through her melancholy and anxiety—not as a way of cleansing herself, but as a channel for reaching their true depths.  

Throughout the fifteen songs on Watch This Liquid Pour Itself, Okay Kaya listens, responds, and takes a deep breath before she dives in.

  1. Baby Little Tween
  2. Ascend and Try Again
  3. Insert Generic Name
  4. Overstimulated
  5. Psych Ward
  6. Guttural Sounds
  7. Asexual Wellbeing
  8. Popcorn Heart
  9. Mother Natures Bitch
  10. Hallelu Ya Hallelu Me
  11. Symbiosis
  12. Givenupitis
  13. Helsevesen
  14. Stonethrow
  15. Zero Interaction Ramen Bar
View full details